### UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

### NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

# HOLTEC INTERNATIONAL

### Docket No. 72-1051

### ASLBP No. 18-958-01-ISFSI-BD01

### ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

Pursuant to delegation by the Commission, <u>see</u> 37 Fed. Reg. 28,710 (Dec. 29, 1972), and the Commission's regulations, <u>see</u>, <u>e.g.</u>, 10 C.F.R. §§ 2.104, 2.105, 2.300, 2.309, 2.313, 2.318, 2.321, notice is hereby given that an Atomic Safety and Licensing Board (Board) is being established to preside over the following proceeding:

# HOLTEC INTERNATIONAL (HI-STORE Consolidated Interim Storage Facility)

This proceeding involves an application by Holtec International requesting a license to construct and operate the HI-STORE Consolidated Interim Storage Facility in Lea County, New Mexico. In response to a notice published in the <u>Federal Register</u> announcing the opportunity to request a hearing, <u>see</u> 83 Fed. Reg. 32,919 (July 16, 2018), multiple requests for hearing and requests to participate as an interested local governmental body have been filed.

The Board is comprised of the following Administrative Judges:

Paul S. Ryerson, Chairman Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

Nicholas G. Trikouros Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

Dr. Gary S. Arnold Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

All correspondence, documents, and other materials shall be filed in accordance with the

NRC E-Filing rule. See 10 C.F.R. § 2.302.

## /**RA**/

Edward R. Hawkens Chief Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel

Rockville, Maryland October 31, 2018

# UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

In the Matter of

Docket No. 72-1051

HOLTEC INTERNATIONAL

(HI-STORE Consolidated Interim Storage Facility)

# CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of the foregoing **ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD** have been served upon the following persons by Electronic Information Exchange (EIE).

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Mail Stop: T-3F23 Washington, DC 20555-0001

Paul S. Ryerson, Chair Administrative Judge E-mail: <u>paul.ryerson@nrc.gov</u>

Nicholas G. Trikouros Administrative Judge E-mail: <u>nicholas.trikouros@nrc.gov</u>

Dr. Gary S. Arnold Administrative Judge E-mail: <u>gary.arnold@nrc.gov</u>

Sarah Ladin, Law Clerk E-mail: <u>sarah.ladin@nrc.gov</u>

Joseph McManus, Law Clerk E-mail: joseph.mcmanus@nrc.gov

Taylor A. Mayhall E-mail: <u>taylor.mayhall@nrc.gov</u>

Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555-0001 E-mail: <u>ocaamail@nrc.gov</u> U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of the General Counsel Mail Stop - O-15 D21 Washington, DC 20555-0001

Patrick Moulding, Esq. E-mail: <u>patrick.moulding@nrc.gov</u>

Sara B. Kirkwood, Esq. E-mail: <u>sara.kirkwood@nrc.gov</u>

Mauri Lemoncelli, Esq. E-mail: <u>mauri.lemoncelli@nrc.gov</u>

Christopher Hair, Esq. E-mail: <u>christopher.hair@nrc.gov</u>

Joseph I. Gillespie, Esq. E-mail: joe.gillespie@nrc.gov

Krupskaya T. Castellon, Paralegal E-mail: <u>krupskaya.castellon@nrc.qov</u>

OGC Mail Center: Members of this office have received a copy of this filing by EIE service.

Don't Waste Michigan 316 N. Michigan Street, Suite 520 Toledo, OH 43604-5627 Terry J. Lodge, Esq. E-mail: <u>tjlodge50@yahoo.com</u>

Sierra Club 4403 1<sup>st</sup> Avenue SE, Suite 402 Cedar Rapids, IA 52402 Wallace L. Taylor, Esq. E-mail: <u>wtaylor784@aol.com</u>

# Docket No. 72-1051 ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

Holtec Counsel Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP 1200 Seventeenth Street, NW Washington, DC 20036

Jay Silberg, Esq. E-mail: jay.silberg@pillsburylaw.com

Timothy J. Walsh, Esq. E-mail: <u>timothy.walsh@pillsburylaw.com</u>

Anne Leidich, Esq. E-mail: <u>anne.leidich@pillsburylaw.com</u>

Michael Lepre, Esq. E-mail: <u>michael.lepre@pillsburylaw.com</u>

Harmon, Curran, Spielberg & Eisenberg LLP 1725 DeSales Street NW Suite 500 Washington, DC 20036

Diane Curran, Esq. E-mail: <u>dcurran@harmoncurran.com</u>

Robert V. Eye Law Office, LLC 4840 Bob Billings Parkway Lawrence, KS 66049

Robert V. Eye, Esq. E-mail: <u>bob@kauffmaneye.com</u>

Timothy J. Laughlin, Esq. E-mail: <u>tijay1300@gmail.com</u>

Turner Environmental Law Clinic 1301 Clifton Road Atlanta, GA 30322

Mindy Goldstein, Esq. E-mail: <u>magolds@emory.edu</u> Hogan Lovells LLP 555 13<sup>th</sup> Street NW Washington, DC 20004

Sachin S. Desai, Esq. E-mail: <u>sachin.desai@hoganlovells.com</u>

Allison E. Hellreich, Esq. E-mail: <u>allison.hellreich@hoganlovells.com</u>

Law Office of Nancy L. Simmons 120 Girard Boulevard SE Albuquerque, NM 87106

Nancy L. Simmons, Esq. E-mail: <u>nlsstaff@swcp.com</u>

Eddy-Lea Energy Alliance 102 S. Canyon Carlsbad, NM 88220

John A. Heaton E-mail: jaheaton1@gmail.com

City of Hobbs, NM 2605 Lovington Highway Hobbs, NM 88242

Garry A. Buie E-mail: <u>gabuie52@hotmail.com</u>

Lea County, NM 100 N. Main Lovington, NM 88260

Jonathan B. Sena E-mail: jsena@leacounty.net

City of Carlsbad, NM 1024 N. Edward Carlsbad, NM 88220

Jason G. Shirley E-mail: jgshirley@cityofcarlsbadnm.com

# Docket No. 72-1051 ESTABLISHMENT OF ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

Eddy County, NM 101 W. Greene Street Carlsbad, NM

Rick Rudometkin E-mail: <u>rrudometkin@co.eddy.nm.us</u>

> [Original signed by Brian Newell] Office of the Secretary of the Commission

Dated at Rockville, Maryland, this 31<sup>st</sup> day of October, 2018