# NHF

# NORDISK HYDROLOGISK FORENING

Nordic Association for Hydrology

# Minutes of the NHF board meeting at Elite Hotel Arcadia, Stockholm, 10 August 2014

**Present:** Board members – Hege Hisdal (Norway), Dirk-Ingmar Müller-Wohlfeil (Denmark), Tiia Pedusaar (Estonia), Johanna Korhonen (Finland), David Egilson for Thorsteinn Thorsteinsson (Iceland), Elga Apsite (Latvia), Zenonas Gulbinas (Lithuania), David Gustafsson (Sweden)

Editor of Hydrology Research – Chong-Yu Xu (Norway) Treasurer – Martin Bergstrand (Sweden) Web editor – Karin Nyström (Sweden) Secretary – Heidi Lee (Norway)

# 1-3. Opening, organization and approval of the meeting agenda

The meeting was opened by Hege Hisdal at 18.40 p.m. Hege was appointed Chair and Heidi Lee Secretary. The minutes will be scrutinized jointly. The meeting participants are given five days to comment the minutes, which will then be published on the website. The suggested agenda was approved.

# 4. Minutes from the previous board meeting, 14 March 2014

The minutes from the previous board meeting was approved. The outstanding action points are:

- Institutional members' logos and links:
   The deadline has been postponed to 18.8.2014. Send logos to Karin for publishing. Some new ideas regarding the design on the front page were discussed.
- The electronic dictionary for hydrology: SMHI has started to revise their old glossary. David informed the board on the status of this project.
- The discussion about only having institutional members: The new board will follow up this issue and conclude.
- The discussion about whether HR should be an open journal: This will be followed up at the annual meeting between IWA Publishing, NHF, BHS and the editors in December 2014. Also, does NHF membership qualify for individual subscriptions?

# 5. Meeting costs for this meeting

The costs for meeting room and dinner will be covered directly by NHF.

Since this meeting is arranged in connection with the conference, the travel costs for board members will not be reimbursed by NHF. The travel costs for officials (Treasurer, Secretary, Web editor) will be reimbursed.

### 6. Status NHC 2014

- Everything is on track: about 90 abstracts have been submitted, and about 120 participants are going to follow the conference.
- Most likely, the post-conference tour will be cancelled.
- A special issue of Hydrology Research of HR will be published after the NHC 2014. David/Linus as the guest editor and Chong-Yu Xu as the HR-editor have the main responsibility. After a list of accepted abstracts is finalized, a call for submission will follow. The deadline for submission is by the end of this year.
- The best presentation and poster: The student presentations are marked in the conference program. A committee including some of the board & scientific committee members is delegated to choose the best presentation during the NHC 2014. David leads this group.
- The best paper in HR, best student presentation and poster will be awarded during the conference.

### 7. NHC 2016

Is to be announced at GA tomorrow. The conference will be arranged 8–10 August 2016 in Kaunas, Lithuania. Diana Meilutyte-Lukauskiene leads the organizing committee and Arvydas Povilaitis leads the scientific committee.

## 8. GA 2014, necessary preparation

Everything is on track.

Only Lithuania and Estonia have transferred the membership fees for 2014 to the Treasurer. Other countries take action right after the conference!

The Treasurer commented that the yearly income should be higher, and the financial year should end up with a profit.

# 9. Other items

The new board will check that the contracts between association and officers are up-to-date.

The editor of HR, Chong-Yu Xu suggested that the board makes clear guidelines how to select the best paper published in HR. The discussion will be continued in the coming board meetings.

# 10. Next board meeting

The next meeting will be held tomorrow, 11 August 2014 right after the GA. The new and previous board members are welcome to join the meeting.

# 11. Closing of the meeting

Hege Hisdal closed the meeting at 20.00 pm.

Hege Hisdal Chair Heidi Lee Secretary